2012 Physics Nobel Prize


The 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Serge Haroche of Collège de France and Ecole Normale Supérieure in Paris,

France, and David J. Wineland of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and University of Colorado Boulder, Colo., USA «for groundbreaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems.»

In the quantum world, the general understanding is that to measure a single quantum particle will destroy that particle Haroche’s method required trapping photons—individual particles of light—and measuring their quantum properties by sending atoms through the trap.



Wineland approached the problem from the other direction,

trapping electrically charged atoms and measuring their properties with light particles. The results of their work have led to highly precise atomic clocks and provides a foundation that may one day make quantum computing a reality.. These two researchers took different approaches to solve this unique quantum problem, and their efforts have resulted in direct observation of single quantum particles without destroying them.

Nobel Prize in Physics

Three Astrophysicists Honored

Novel Medal photo

The 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded «for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae» with one half to APS Fellow, Saul Perlmutter (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory/UC-Berkeley), and the other half jointly to Brian P. Schmidt (Australian National University) and APS member Adam G. Riess (Johns Hopkins University).


More info in : http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/physics/laureates/2011/press.html

Source: http://www.aps.org/